

## CITATION - FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH DARREN CLARKE OBE, GRAEME MCDOWELL MBE AND RORY MCILROY MBE

Thanks to their efforts, they have made our Borough the number one destination for golf in the world and with their support we have seen the Irish Open come to our area in 2012 and 2017 and the Open to Royal Portrush in 2019.

Darren Clarke OBE has won 21 tournaments worldwide with his biggest win coming in the 2011 Open Championship and he also captained the European Ryder Cup team in 2016 and has been part of the winning team on four occasions. He was also awarded the OBE in the 2012 New Year Honours List.

Graeme McDowell MBE attended Coleraine Academical Institution and played at Rathmore Golf Club from the age of 8. In 2011, McDowell received an honorary doctorate (D Sc) from the Ulster University for his services to golf and was awarded the MBE in New Year Honours List. He is best known for winning the 2010 US Open at Pebble Beach, where he ended a 40 year drought for Europeans at the tournament. He has also been a winning member of the European Ryder Cup Team.

Rory McIlroy MBE is a four time major champion and is one of four players to win three majors by the age of 25. McIlroy has represented Europe, Great Britain and Ireland as both an amateur and a professional. He was world number one in the Official World Golf Ranking for 95 weeks. He was awarded the MBE in the 2012 New Year Honours List for services to sport. Like Darren and Graeme he has also been a winning members of the European Ryder Cup Team.